Random Acts of Kindness Lead to a Great Brand

25 09 2009

As many of my friends know, I have a favorite watch. It’s a Tutima FX UTC, a chronograph which displays time in 2 time zones. It’s a beautiful watch and very functional. See www.tutima.com.

my watch

my watch

We all know times are difficult for many people and businesses. Yet, I want to point out a random act of kindness from the service center at Tutima that made me an even bigger ambassador for the Tutima brand.

My watch needed to be repaired. It needed a pusher (the little button that starts and stops the second hand for the stop watch). I received a quote and an estimate for an overhaul (cleaning) which it probably needs since I wear the watch basically everyday and it’s been about 4 years since the last “tune-up.” However, like many of us, I am watching my pennies and being, in part, an EIT (Executive in Transition) I was not amenable to spending a lot on the watch at this time. So I wrote back to Christina Pickens, the service manager at Tutima, and explained my circumstances.

I expected to get push back on the repairs and an attempt to make me feel guilty about having an expensive watch and not taking care of it. However, instead I received a nice note which basically said she understood these times are tough and whenever I wanted it overhauled they would be glad to do the job. Not only that, I received a discount on the repair I agreed to and without asking for one! I found the note particularly interesting because I did not expect it and because of her empathy.

How many times during this recession have you seen such random acts of understanding and kindness? Rather, I normally see the service providers trying to take advantage of the unfortunate. In the grand scheme of things, fixing my watch is not a huge issue. But, to me, this experience was quite touching and because of it I am an even more committed advocate of Tutima and a bigger brand ambassador.

When I can, in the future, I guarantee that I will purchase another Tutima watch, probably the Eurofighter Typhoon or the Flieger Chrono F2. And in the meantime, I will wear my current watch with pride and tell my story to all who will listen. It’s a great example of customer service and I commend Christina Pickens and Tutima.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 10 2009
Dave Kinnear

David,

This is a wonderful story, and one that I think may be more representative than we all might think. I know of many companies who have discussed the difficult situation with their employees on decisions of how to save critical operating cash. When given the chance, many employees have opted to all share in a pay cut rather than see some of their colleagues let go. They go even further by identifying operational savings of which management was not aware.

Our people, it seems to me, are largely willing to lend a hand up to colleagues, others less fortunate, and yes, even customers as well as their own company. So good for Tutima, and good on you for recognizing the compassion being offered.

Good luck on solving the EIT situation!

Dave K.

26 04 2010
douglas ritter

Dave — Great story! Somewhere in that filing cabinet I call a brain I have a file memory of you wearing a Panerai? Corupt file?

Douglas

26 04 2010
David Friedman

I have one of those too. But the Tutima because it is two time zones is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

